Thursday 11th June 2020: Janet Traynor, South Shields

Janet

Just over 11 weeks, all the days seem to roll into one (I liken it to being locked in a room waiting for someone to let you out 😉). Yet, I’m still waiting for the bad dream to end. Sadly, it isn’t a dream, but, then who am I to moan, when it’s been more of a nightmare for the families of tens of thousands of people who have sadly lost their lives. God bless every single one of them, their families, and the extremely dedicated NHS and care staff. I hope they truly get the remuneration they deserve and we learn from this experience with positivity.

What has changed for me…

I now wake up every morning wondering what day it is. Whilst still keeping my morning routine…it is tempting to stay in my night attire but for me it would be the beginning of the end (any excuse). So I get showered, dressed then off to work I go just like one of the seven dwarves (preferably the one of the seven without the beard😱…no such luck). Going to the office now only takes me 40 seconds instead of 35 minutes. As I enter my office …the dining room, to start a day’s graft (that’s a Geordie word for hard work), I have a new colleague, a man I’ve never worked with before but have been married to for 28 years…well, that’s been an eye-opener to say the least. I think I might be the co-worker from hell…touché I say🤣🤣.

I miss having family get-togethers with my daughters, their partners, my adorable grandchildren and my larger than normal extended family; thank goodness for House Party and Zoom. I miss them all; not forgetting the pooches.

Information Technology (IT) has been taken to another level. We have proven that for a lot of us we can work from home as we have 365 and the many tools it has to offer especially Teams….I’ve seen my female colleagues at their most vulnerable…no make-up, bed heads, jazzy PJs, no bras and 2inch roots…go sisters🤛; the males are unrecognisable as they look like ‘Cousin It’ from the Adams Family with their long hair and beards – then there’s the eyebrows. Hairdressers will have their work cut out with all that hair.

What have I learnt from COVID19 lockdown?

Not to take anything for granted, time away from the old normal hustle and bustle to a more sedentary way of life has given us all plenty of thinking time and allowed us to complete all our ‘do that later’ jobs around the home with the paint we bought a while back. Our brain training has been taken to another level as we’ve all become geniuses from general knowledge quizzes – and not forgetting bingo – making us tech savvy Zoom experts.  We will no longer have to wait for doctors appointments as we can now beam them up using a meeting app from the comfort of our own home.

Covid19 has been an experience, a pandemic that not even my parents have had to endure; whilst I wish they were still here I would not have wanted them to witness this virus and the worry that would have besieged them. I thank my blessings.

Leave a comment